Icon deutschIcon english

Munich Classical Players

Concert as part of the "Music [in] the Museum" series of the European Art Forum of the District of Upper Bavaria

Date :


Munich Classical Players

Friday, 12 April 2024, 8 pm
Music [in the] Museum | Munich Classical Players

On April 12, the MUNICH CLASSICAL PLAYERS, conducted by Maximilian Leinekugel, will perform for the third time at the European Art Forum in Freising. Since 2016, the chamber orchestra has been bringing together professional musicians from German and Austrian music academies who share their enthusiasm for classical music and perform extraordinary concerts.

This time, the chamber orchestra presents a concert program that includes music from the late Baroque to the present day and spans almost 300 years of music history. The focus is on Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's famous Symphony No. 40 in G minor and Leoš Janáček's Suite for String Orchestra. Mozart wrote his Symphony No. 40 in Vienna in 1788; together with Symphonies Nos. 39 and 41, which were composed at the same time, it marks the high point of his symphonic output and is particularly captivating due to its dramatic, agitated character. A century later, Janáček, who was just 23 years old, created a work in 1877 with his Suite for String Orchestra, which is bursting with harmonic boldness and melodic expressivity and already points to the music of modernism. Finally, the program features two Bavarian composers, Luca Spatz and Placidius von Camerloher. Luca Spatz (*2004) was awarded a special prize at the “Jugend komponiert Bayern” composition competition in 2023 and subsequently composed his Chamber Symphony No. 1, which will now be premiered by the MUNICH CLASSICAL PLAYERS. Murnau-born Placidius von Camerloher, on the other hand, worked as court conductor in Freising in the 18th century and his Sinfonia in D stands on the threshold between the late baroque and classical periods.

Luca Spatz: Chamber Symphony Nr. 1 (Premiere)
Leoš Janáček: Suite for string orchestra
Placidius von Camerloher: Sinfonie in D
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonie Nr. 40

Maximilian Leinekugel (conducter)

The MUNICH CLASSICAL PLAYERS are a collective of young, highly motivated musicians who create rousing concert performances together.

The Munich-based chamber orchestra was founded in 2016 by Munich conductor Maximilian Leinekugel. Since then, extraordinary orchestral projects have been realized under his direction, inspiring new audiences and getting them excited about classical music. 

The ensemble brings together aspiring professional musicians from German and Austrian music academies who are at the beginning of their individual careers. Their diverse influences shape them into an orchestra that crosses musical boundaries with innovative concert programs. From baroque compositions to world premieres of contemporary music, from well-known works to pieces never heard before - the repertoire of the MUNICH CLASSICAL PLAYERS is varied, surprising and distinctive. In an effort to make classical music accessible to everyone, the chamber orchestra also performs beyond the established concert halls in Munich and Bavaria. The orchestra was already a guest in Freising in 2022 and 2023.

The MUNICH CLASSICAL PLAYERS live classical music and bring their enthusiasm to life for the audience - while consistently going their own way.


24,10 €, reduced 12 €

Touristinformation Freising (08161 54 44 333)
Box office (depending on availability)

More information:


Opening hours


Winter (Nov-Feb)
Tue - Sat: 2 pm - 6 pm
Sun + holidays: 10 am - 7 pm

Summer (March-Oct)
Tue - Sat: 2 pm - 7 pm
Sun + holidays: 10 am - 7 pm


Das Titelbild des Flyers über die Kunstwerke im Skulpturengarten im Außenbereich des Schafhofs - Europäisches Künstlerhaus Oberbayern zeigt die Skluptur "SpaceSheep" des ungarischen Künstlers Csongor Szigeti, ein silbernes, halb abstraktes Schaf auf einer Wiese.
Brochure about the Sculpture Garden in the outdoor area of the Center for Art
To download: PDF 10 MB